Raw UnGranola Bars

I do not eat wheat or grains anymore, but I like granola bars, what to do? Make my own, a raw version of granola bars. I’ll tell you this…they turned out great. It does have a bit of a coconut flavor because I used coconut oil and coconut flour in them, but I can make it coconut free. I like coconut but some of my family does not, though I did not make them for my “normal” people family members. I made them myself and for anyone wanting a raw vegan adventure. I used the coconut oil as a binder – holder together. So I keep them in the refrigerator because I live in California and it’s been over 100 degrees here and the coconut oil may soften. These ungranola bars are so soft, chewy, sweet with a little bit of crunch. They do not contain any sugar, they are naturally sweetened with medjool dates and dried tart cherries. I added so many good for you ingredients. To think a sweet tasty bar that is actually good for you and is raw vegan. Another easy to make recipe. I used coconut flour, almond flour and flax meal if you can’t find these in your local store, you can make them. Just put raw dried coconut in a blender and blend until it’s a flour. Same for the almond and flax. If you can’t find medjool dates then use the smaller ones but soak them for a few hours to make them softer. You will have to use about eighteen small dates, make sure they are depitted. I found my cherries at Costco. Costco sells medjool dates also.

wpid-20150825_114903-1

Raw Vegan Ungranola Bars

Recipe:
12 to 14 medjool dates-pitted
2 T. Hemp seeds
1 t. Acai powder
1/3 c. Raw cashews
2/3 c. Almond flour
2 T. Coconut flour
1 T. Flax meal
2 T. Coconut oil
1/3 c. Dried tart cherries

Add dates, hemp seeds, acai powder, raw cashews, coconut flour, flax meal, almond flour and coconut oil in a good processor. Process until crumbles. Add cherries, process until just chopped and blended. Place on parchment paper, form into a 12″x12″x1/2″ square. Freeze for about 10 minutes, cut into bars. Keep refrigerated.

Follow me to see more recipes.

 

Leave a Reply

